It’s all about the Penguin…

I love books…I love old books…I love new books and most especially I love Vintage Penguin books.
I have a little collection which is slowly but oh so surely being added to..

20140713-231845-83925456.jpg

They fascinate me so, I want to know what lives they have lead before they came to the secondhand bookshop where I found them.
Who so very lovingly cared for them..

For instance..who wrote a Rudyard Kipling poem in the back of a 1972 copy of Northanger Abbey.

20140713-232428-84268145.jpg

A part of me wants to tell them “your books are safe and cared for” the books you loved, the books you brought for a few shillings or were given from a much loved relative, are much loved.
I want to talk to B. C. Howe from Louth who in 1946 shared my love of H.G.Wells, Owning both my copies of Kipps and The History of Mr Polly.

20140713-233532-84932418.jpg

Frequent trips to the wonderful Harlequin Books in Lincoln mean my collection will always be added too and I shall always wonder just who loved them before and think of them as I read.

2 thoughts on “It’s all about the Penguin…

  1. I collect the old green Penguin crime novels. They’re lovely things, and often you just can’t get the stories in any other way as they’re out of print.

    Like

Leave a Reply

